When different people from all different areas work together to change society, truly remarkable things can happen.

When different people from all different areas work together to change society, truly remarkable things can happen.

On August 28, I travelled to Santa Ana for the Orange County Human Trafficking Task Force Meeting. There I got to see many of the people I had met at the Runaway Girl Training and here from Dr. Kenneth Chuang, who has worked to provide physical and mental healthcare to victims of trafficking. There were so many different members of the community there from members of the grand jury to members of the FBI. Knowing that so many people from all areas of society are working to end this issue is reassuring and inspiring. I also love reconnecting with people, and being able to reconnect with the people I had met at the training and listen to such a remarkable speaker was incredible.

It was really amazing to hear him speak specifically, as that is an area I am definitely looking to work in. He specifically talked about how there are really no mental health services for victims of trafficking. And I think this is true for many people who suffer sever trauma. Often, we pigeonhole someone into one category of depression, anxiety, or trauma when they may have multiple symptoms or traumas. I want to be able to help people find themselves again, no matter what they have gone through. 

Everyone deserves a chance to truly live.

